Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Live Design introduces Design Achievement Awards

Live Design introduces the Design Achievement Awards, a new awards program to honor design excellence in the fields of lighting design, projection/video design and event production design in the areas of Theatre (including dance and opera), Live For Broadcast and Concerts and Events.

Nominations are open beginning June 19 for work created from August 1, 2019 through July 31, 2020.

“Now, more than ever, it’s important for us to recognize the discipline of design and applaud all the hard work that goes into production, as we all look forward to bringing back the live experience and getting back to producing—and seeing—shows,” said Live Design/LDI market leader Marian Sandberg. “The new Design Achievement Awards will acknowledge the outstanding design talent in our community, and we look forward to showcasing all of the creative work with the Live Design community. We plan to return to our full awards programs next year.”

The judges from Live Design’s Knight of Illumination Awards will choose the award finalists along with Chicago Tribune dance critic Lauren Warnecke chairing the Theatre panel, lighting programmer and designer Tiffany Keyes chairing the Live For Broadcast panel and lighting and projection designer Cory FitzGerald chairing the Concerts & Events panel. The industry-at-large will vote on the winner in each of the awards categories via

The Award Categories include:

Theatre: Lighting for Plays, Dance, Opera, Musicals; Projection & Video Design

Live For Broadcast: Lighting for Unscripted Series, Live Performance Special (music), Live Performance Special (non-music), and Awards Shows; Digital Content; Awards Shows Production/Scenic Design

Concerts and Events: Lighting for concerts for Arena, Club, Stage, Festival Headliner; Digital & Video Content; Concert Production Design; Event Lighting Design; Event Digital Content; Event Production Design

All finalists and winning projects will be featured on in September and October.

Click here to make a nomination. The awards deadline is August 3.

For award sponsorship information, please contact Kelly Turner at [email protected].

Related Articles

Latest Articles