Wednesday, September 27, 2023

GSCA Announces 2013 Officers and Committee Chairs

Lake Anna, VA, USA (December 19, 2012) — The Giant Screen Cinema Association (GSCA) 2013 board of directors has elected officers, Executive and Governance Committee members, as well as committee chairs and co-chairs.

Kim Cavendish (Museum of Discovery and Science) will serve a two-year term as GSCA chair. Vice chair, also a two-year term, is Glenn Shaver (Ontario Science Centre). Don Kempf (D3D Cinema and Giant Screen Films) will continue to serve as secretary for the remaining year of his term. Berend Reijnhoudt (Omniversum) will continue to serve as treasurer for the remaining year of his term.

GSCA’s bylaws require the Executive Committee to be made up of the four officers, plus three other individuals representing specific segments of the industry. In addition to officers Kim Cavendish, Glenn Shaver, Berend Reijnhoudt, and Don Kempf, the Executive Committee will include Mark Katz (National Geographic Cinema Ventures) representing production/distribution, and Toby Mensforth (Mensforth and Associates) representing manufacturers/suppliers/other related businesses. Michele Canto (Canadian Museum of Civilization) will continue to represent institutional and commercial theaters in the remaining year of her two-year term.

GSCA’s bylaws also require the board to appoint a Governance Committee. New members of this committee include Gordon Stalans (Tennessee Aquarium), who will chair the committee, and Jonathan Barker (SK Films). Laurent Dondey (La Geode), Paul Fraser (Blaze Digital Cinema Works), Jeffrey Kirsch (Reuben H. Fleet Science Center), and Mike Lutz (IMAX Corporation) will continue their roles on this committee.

Per GSCA’s bylaws, committees must have at least one co-chair who is a board member. Committee chairs, co-chairs, and staff liaison are as follows. Technical Committee: Co-chairs Tim Hazlehurst (Marbles Kids Museum) and Rick Gordon (RPG Productions), with Tammy Thurmon as staff liaison. Marketing and Member Services Committee: Chair Mike Lutz (IMAX Corporation), with Kelly Germain as staff liaison. Conference Committee: Co-chairs Glenn Shaver (Ontario Science Center) and GSCA Executive Director Tammy Thurmon. Lifelong Learning Committee: Co-chairs Shaun MacGillivray (MacGillivray Freeman Films) and Mary Nucci (Rutgers University), with Kelly Germain as staff liaison. Professional Development Committee: Co-chairs Paul Fraser (Blaze Digital Cinema Works) and Daniel Ferguson (Cosmic Picture), with Tammy Thurmon as staff liaison.

Winners of the 2013 election, as voted by GSCA members, were announced in November and take office effective January 1. The full 2013 board is as follows:

Representing Institutional theaters:

  • Steve Bishop, Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts
  • Michele Canto, Canadian Museum of Civilization
  • Kim Cavendish, Museum of Discovery and Science
  • Tim Hazlehurst, Marbles Kids Museum
  • Jeffrey Kirsch, Reuben H. Fleet Science Center
  • Glenn Shaver, Ontario Science Centre
  • Gordon Stalans, Tennessee Aquarium 

Representing Commercial Theaters:

  • Mark Bretherton, World’s Biggest Screens
  • Laurent Dondey, La Geode
  • Berend Reijnhoudt, Omniversum 

Representing Distributors:

  • Bob Harman, MacGillivray Freeman Films
  • Mark Katz, National Geographic Cinema Ventures
  • Don Kempf, Giant Screen Films
Representing Manufacturers/Suppliers/Other Related Businesses:

  • Paul Fraser, Blaze Digital Cinema Works
  • Rick Gordon, RPG Productions
  • Mike Lutz, IMAX Corporation
  • Toby Mensforth, Mensforth and Associates 
Representing Producers:

  • Jonathan Barker, SK Films
  • Daniel Ferguson, Cosmic Picture
  • Shaun MacGillivray, MacGillivray Freeman Films
  • Lisa Truitt, National Geographic Cinema VenturesEuromax Ex-Officio Director:
  • Dennis Laws, BFI IMAX
Visit for more information
About the Giant Screen Cinema Association

The core purpose of the Giant Screen Cinema Association (GSCA®) is to advance the business of producing and presenting educational giant screen and immersive cinema experiences globally. GSCA’s membership includes more than 250 organizations in nearly 30 countries. Member organizations include giant screen filmmakers, distributors, theaters, suppliers, manufacturers, and students from around the world.

GSCA was founded in 2006 with the unification of the Large Format Cinema Association (LFCA) and the Giant Screen Theater Association (GSTA).

The Association holds two annual events–a 2-day Film Expo in February/March and a 4-day International Conference and Trade Show in September.

Joe Kleiman
Joe Kleiman
Raised in San Diego on theme parks, zoos, and IMAX films, InPark's Senior Correspondent Joe Kleiman would expand his childhood loves into two decades as a projectionist and theater director within the giant screen industry. In addition to his work in commercial and museum operations, Joe has volunteered his time to animal husbandry at leading facilities in California and Texas and has played a leading management role for a number of performing arts companies. Joe previously served as News Editor and has remained a contributing author to InPark Magazine since 2011. HIs writing has also appeared in Sound & Communications, LF Examiner, Jim Hill Media, The Planetarian, Behind the Thrills, and MiceChat His blog, takes an unconventional look at the attractions industry. Follow on twitter @ThemesRenewed Joe lives in Sacramento, California with his wife, dog, and a ghost.

Related Articles

Latest Articles