Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Tokyo DisneySea named Liseberg Applause Award winner for 2022

Biannually, since 1980, the prestigious Liseberg Applause Award honours a park whose management, operations and creative accomplishments have inspired the industry with foresight, originality and sound business development.

In 2020, in the year of the Applause Awards Ruby Jubilee, the award went dark because of the pandemic. But after a four-year pause, the Applause Award is again celebrating the best of the best parks in the world.

The winner of the 2022 Applause Award is Tokyo DisneySea, Japan:

“With a mix of world-class attractions, exceptional shows, outstanding theming and flawless operation, this park is by many regarded as almost perfect. When it was built in 2001, it was one of the most ambitious park developments ever. And Tokyo DisneySea still is one of the most beautiful theme parks in the world”, says Andreas Veilstrup Andersen, President and CEO, Liseberg Group and Chairman of The Applause Award Board of Governors.

The Applause Award was presented November 15 2022, at the Opening Ceremony of IAAPA Attractions Expo 2022 in Orlando, Florida. With the award, Tokyo DisneySea joins the ranks amongst the absolute best amusement- and theme parks in the world.

Previous winners of The Applause Award:

1980 Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World, USA

1982 Opryland, USA

1986 Epcot Center, USA

1988 Knott´s Berry Farm, USA

1990 EuropaPark, Germany

1992 Efteling, the Netherlands

1994 Universal Studios, Florida, USA

1996 Cedar Point, USA

1998 Silver Dollar City, USA

2000 Hershey Park, USA

2002 Busch Gardens, Williamsburg, USA

2004 Holiday World & Splashing Safari, USA

2006 Universal´s Islands of Adventure, USA

2008 Xetulul, Guatemala

2010 Dollywood, USA

2012 Ocean Park, Hong Kong

2014 Puy du Fou, France

2016 Busch Gardens Tampa, USA

2018 Xcaret, Mexico

2022 Tokyo DisneySea, Japan

Related Articles

Latest Articles