Friday, March 31, 2023

GSCA 2011 Board of Directors Announced

The Giant Screen Cinema Association (GSCA) has announced the results of the 2011 board of directors election. Eleven new directors will begin serving their two-year terms at the upcoming GSCA Film Expo being held in Los Angeles, CA, on March 8-9. The new directors representing the five GSCA membership categories are:
Institutional Theaters
• Charlotte Brohi, Houston Museum of Nature and Science, Houston, Texas
• Michele Canto, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
• Jackie Mollet, Saint Louis Science Center, St. Louis, Missouri
• Glenn Shaver, Ontario Science Centre, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Commercial Theaters
• Mark Bretherton, IMAX Theatre Sydney, Australia
• Berend Reijnhoudt, Omniversum, The Hague, The Netherlands
Manufacturers/Suppliers/Other Related Businesses
• Glenn Newland, Technicolor, North Hollywood, California
• Mary Nucci, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey
• John Wickstrom, Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago, Illinois
• Daniel Ferguson, Cosmic Picture, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
• Andy Wood, Giant Screen Films, Evanston, Illinois
The newly elected directors join the following directors, whose terms expire in 2012:
• Mark Katz, National Geographic Cinema Ventures, Washington, DC
• Don Kempf, Giant Screen Films, Evanston, Illinois
• Greg MacGillivray, MacGillivray Freeman Films, Laguna Beach, California
Commercial Theaters
• Gil Perez, Destination Cinema, San Antonio, Texas
Institutional Theaters
• Laurent Dondey, La Geode, Paris, France
• Jeffrey Kirsch, Reuben H. Fleet Science Center, San Diego, California
• Toby Mensforth, Smithsonian
• Gordon Stalans, Tennessee Aquarium, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Manufacturers/Suppliers/Other Related Businesses
• Rick Gordon, RPG Productions, Burbank, California
• Patricia Keighley, DKP 70MM Inc., Santa Monica, California
Euromax Representative
• Dick Vaughan, National Media Museum, Bradford, U.K.
The new board of directors will elect a chair and vice chair during the board meeting in Los Angeles on Monday, March 7. Gordon Stalans, treasurer, and Patricia Keighley, secretary, will continue their responsibilities as officers for the remaining year of their terms. The executive committee, governance committee, and committee chairs and co-chairs will be determined at the March 7 meeting as well. 

Find more stories on AV, cinema and media from IPM Magazine
Find stories on museums from IPM Magazine
Subscribe FREE: IPM Digital Edition

Judith Rubin
Judith Rubin
Judith Rubin ([email protected]) is a leading journalist, publicist, strategist, blogger, content marketing specialist and connector in the international attractions industry. She excels at writing about all aspects of design and technical design, production and project management. Areas of special interest include AV integration and show control, lighting design and acoustics, specialty cinema, digital video and world’s fairs. Judith has ties to numerous industry organizations. From 2005-2020 she ran communications, publications and social media for the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA). In 2013, she was honored with the TEA Service Award. She was development director of IMERSA, and co-chair of the 2014 IMERSA Summit. She was publicist for the Large Format Cinema Association in the 1990s, now part of the Giant Screen Cinema Association (GSCA) and has also contributed to the publications of PLASA, IAAPA and the International Planetarium Society. Already making her mark as a magazine and book editor, Judith joined World’s Fair magazine in 1987, which introduced her to the attractions industry. Launching as a freelancer in the mid 1990s she has contributed to dozens of publications and media outlets including Funworld, Lighting&Sound America, Sound & Communications, Urban Land, The Raconteur and The Planetarian. She joined InPark in 2010. Judith earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Pratt Institute. She has lived in New York City and the San Francisco Bay Area, and now makes her home in Saint Louis, where she is active in the local arts and theater community.

Related Articles

Latest Articles